Using Dropbox in Dropover
To start using Dropbox in Dropover, follow these steps:
- Open Dropover's preferences screen
- Select "Share Services" tab
- Select "Dropbox" from the list
- Select "Configuration..." button in the content view
- Hit the "Link Dropbox" button and follow the instructions.
Once your Dropbox account is linked, you will be able to copy a public Dropbox link for your dragged content. To do so, click the "•••" button in the shelf and select "Copy Dropbox Link".
What happens when I use Dropbox in Dropover?
When you select "Copy Dropbox Link" Dropover will create a destination directory inside macOS Dropover.
It will then upload the content from the shelve to that destination directory. If the shelve contains multiple files Dropover will first zip them and upload the zip instead.
Once uploaded, Dropover will create a public sharable link for the file. Anyone who access that link, will be able to access the uploaded content.
When you delete the directory or files, nobody will be able to access it anymore.
How does Dropover use my data from Dropbox?
When you link your Dropbox account, Dropover will locally store an authentication token in the keychain. Dropover must use this authentication token in order to communicate with Dropbox.
Dropover can only access files and directories that Dropover has created. It does not have access to any other files or directories on your Dropbox.
You can revoke Dropover's access anytime, see here.
Where does Dropover store the content?
Uploaded content from Dropover will be placed inside a subdirectory in "macOS Dropover", for example "macOS Dropover/Upload 28.02.2020 13:23/".
Who can access my uploaded content?
Anybody you share the link with, will be able to access (but not modify) the files in the destination directory.
When you delete the destination directory, nobody will be able to access it anymore.